

Modern Language Teachers' Association of Western Australia Inc. PO BOX 1443 WEST LEEDERVILLE WA 6901

ABN: 58 722 602 420 President: Nadia Civa

president@mltawa.asn.au

Correspondence: secretary@mltawa.asn.au

www.mltawa.asn.au

MLTAWA AGM 2018 Wednesday, 21 November 2018

TIME: 5.25pm

VENUE: Tradewinds Hotel

PRESENT: Esther Blood, Maria Calabro, Kylie Carroll, Nadia Civa, Tanja Colgan, Brendon Cook, Sue Cooper, Penny Coutas, Susan Croker, Anna Triscari, Fulvia Valvasori, Verdina Federica, Bonnie Woo, Jieqi Zhang, Bon Zhao, Tim Bamber, Erina Araki McKenzie, Rashi Loyalka, Lisa Merta, Haruko Nomoto, Marilyn Onishi, Pia Palemo, Grant Porteous, Daniela Puriti Ciarello, Kate Reitzenstein, Lynne Rockliff, Silvia Romagnoli, Justine Daly, Kim Daymond, Melinda Dempsey, Lisa Djanegara, Tundi Gosselink, Nicky Griffin-Appadoo, Nathan Harvey, Mariel Howard, Sandra Jackson, Helen Kuehs, Claire Leong, Li Liu, Maria LoPresti, Carolin Loos

APOLOGIES: John Kinder (UWA); Eliza Knapman; Kate Willams; Anne Becker, Alda Costa; Moya McLauchlan; Alicia Travaglionie; Denisse Scasserra; Margherita DeFilippi; Yumi Sales, Sharee Seeburuth, Bianca Petele, Gloria Atkins, Karen Bailey, Muhammad Agherdien, Shammilah Davies, Asuka Johnson, Stella Sung, Hiromi Murakami, Sonia Haidri; Simona Caniello,

1. STANDING ITEMS

- 1.1 President's Welcome (NC)
- 1.2 Apologies (MH)
- 1.3 Confirmation of minutes of the previous AGM in 2018 and actions arising (NC)

Moved: Lynne Rockliff Seconded: Fulvia Valvasori

All in favour, motion carried

- 1.4 President's Report (NC)
- 1.5 Treasurer's Report (SC)
 - Auditor's Report
 - Income Statement

Moved: Helen Kuehs Seconded: Jieqi Zhang

All in favour, motion carried

Ratification of use of CM Accounting Services in 2019

Moved: Susan Seconded: Lynne

All in favour, motion carried

1.6 Membership Report (LR)

As of today, our numbers are 447 in MLTAWA, including Life Members.

ASTWA = 12

CLTAWA = 32

JLTAWA = 125

TAGWA = 35

WAATI = 156

WILTA = 55

2. NEW BUSINESS

2.1 (NC)

3. ELECTION OF 2019 COMMITTEE

- 3.1 Announcement of all Committee positions vacant, except for the President
- 3.2 Returning Officer chairs the election of 2019 MLTAWA Committee (Nathan Harvey)

Nominations for the 2018 Committee:

Position	Nominees	Nominated by	Seconded	Elected
Vice President	Helen Kuehs	Mariel Howard	Nadia Civa	Helen Kuehs
Treasurer	Shu-Chuan (Susan) Crocker	Helen Kuehs	Mariel Howard	Shu-Chuan (Susan) Crocker
Secretary	Lynne Rockliff	Shu-Chuan (Susan) Crocker	Helen Kuehs	Lynne Rockliff
Committee Members	Esther Blood Kate Williams Kylie Carroll Nicky Griffin- Appadoo Simona Carniello	Shu-Chuan Crocker Mariel Howard Nathan Harvey Kate Reitzenstein Nadia Civa	Nadia Civa Kate Reitzenstein Erina Araki Mariel Howard Kate Reitzenstein	

4. ENDING ITEMS

5.1 Acknowledgements

Nadia thanked Mariel Howard and Kate Reitzenstein who are stepping down. Kate praised Nadia's work and how far MLTAWA has come in recent years and how it has grown

5.2 Date of next meeting November 2019

Meeting closed: 6.20